No Gym…No Problem

What happens when you don’t have access to a gym? Maybe you are away on a business trip or on a family vacation. In my case, I went home for the break to visit my family. As I mentioned at the start of my learning project, I grew up in a small town that does not have a gym. So how do I continue on with my learning project? Do I simply not work out for the week because I do not have a gym to visit? That would be the easy way out, but that is not reality. Reality is, there is a number of workouts that I can do right from my home. So, this week was all about working out from the comfort of my home!

The first thing I noticed when searching the web for at home or “no gym” workouts was that there is endless possibilities. I quickly learned that I needed to focus in on the areas I wanted to work on. Was I looking for cardio workouts or did I want to focus on strength exercises? Fortunately, my parents have a treadmill so I spent the first two days focusing on cardio. I used what I learned from the beginning of this project and did an endurance and interval training session on the treadmill. It was great for the start of the week where I was lacking motivation and needed a good sweat!

For the rest of the week I once again used Men’s Fitness to support my learning. This site provides “10 At Home Workouts To Build Muscle.” I think it is a misconception that you need weights to help build and strengthen muscles. That is false. Using your own bodyweight is actually an effective way of gaining muscle. I tried a few of the workouts found on this site and noticed that my muscles were sore the following days, which is interesting because my muscles have not been sore for the past couple of weeks. Maybe I have developed too much of a routine at the gym.


The fact of the matter is that there is not excuse not to workout. Whether you are at home or at the gym, you are still working towards creating a better and healthier YOU. It all comes down to preference. Some people enjoy the privacy of their own homes. Others need the gym for motivation and more variety. But all in all, one-way is not more RIGHT than the other. A workout is a workout no matter where you are. Do you prefer working out at home over the gym or vice versa? How do you change things up so you do not become too routinized?

Tip of the Week: Change it up! This week by changing up my routine, I felt different muscle groups being used. If you do the same thing over and over, you gain muscle recognition and your muscles do not have to work as much.

2 thoughts on “No Gym…No Problem

  1. I love exercising outside too Kerrie! Especially when our summers are so short in Saskatchewan, I try to get outside as much as possible. I have struggled with motivating myself to workout at home. I do not think I have the answer to this because I think you have to find what works for you. Some things that I have found helpful is sticking to a schedule and routine. For example, when I was at home for the break, I made a schedule with what area I was going to focus on each day (e.g., Monday – cardio). I also got into the routine of exercising in the morning before starting the day. When I have a plan, I find it is easier to stick with it. When I do not have a plan, I make excuses. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

