Circuit Training

Have you ever heard of circuit training? If you remember when I was learning about cardio exercises at the gym, I learned about high-intensity interval training. This is a form of circuit training. As defined by For Dummies – A Wiley Brand circuit training “is a fast-paced class in which you do one exercise for 30 seconds to 5 minutes and then move on to another exercise.” This website gives a brief outline of circuit training which I have included below.

This week I focused on circuit training. The great thing about circuit training is that I was able to incorporate a lot of the things I have learned in my learning project thus far. I created three different circuits this week. My circuits usually consisted of working on different target areas. However, when creating circuits you can adjust it based on your personal preference. Therefore, you can create an entire circuit focused on lower body or an entire circuit based on upper body. If you still are not convinced that circuit training is for you, read these 7 Benefits of Circuit Training. I also learned that circuits are easily adjustable. If you only have time for a quick workout, you can set up a short circuit that you repeat two or three times. If you are looking for something longer, you can set up a five-station circuit. The most important thing about a circuit is to choose something this is practical and works for you! Below is a circuit I created this week after completing a half hour of cardio on the treadmill. I was looking to focus on my upper body and keep it short and simple. This circuit was great for engaging the core and arms.


Upper Body Circuit Training

  1. Bosu Ball Push Up (10 reps)
  2. Plank (1 min.)
  3. Kettle Bell Press (10 reps each arm)
Repeat the circuit 3 times.

If you are looking to try out circuit training, feel free to try the workout above to get a great upper body workout.

One thought on “Circuit Training

  1. Pingback: A Week in the Life at the Gym | Ryan's Blog

Leave a Reply

